Puppies in my house....help! (pictures)

Thread: Puppies in my house....help! (pictures)

DefaultPuppies in my house....help! (pictures)

My sister had to leave the country due to work and her Lab had just given birth to 3 beautiful puppies (2 black one Chocolate). So being the good brother I am, I took the 3 puppies and Lola(Dam's name) into my house. They are currently 5 weeks old. I also have a chocolate Lab of my own who is 6 months old, so as you can imagine a house with 4 pups and an adult Lab can be a hassle. Luckily Lola is sweet and lets Potito (6 month old) to play with the pups with out a complaint.
    I have a set of questions becuase I am relatively new in dealing with such young pups.

1. Is it normal for the mom to eat their feces? She eats them before I get a chance to clean them.
    2. Until when should they breast feed, and when should I give dry puppy food.
    3. What questions and things should I look for in prospective homes for the puppies.
    4. When can they leave their mother.

Thank you for your help!

Attached Images Attached Images

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

windycanyon is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Puppies in my house....help! (pictures)

My suggestion is to do a Google on Puppy care. The pups should be getting fed several times a day by now. Mom normally stops eating the poo after you start on solid food but I've seen exceptions. If you want ideas on how a typical litter here is raised, go to my website at www.windycanyonlabs.com and click on Nursery, and read the diary links there.

WindyCanyon Girls, August 2014

imported_Canula2000 is offline Senior Member

Pups should be eating wet puppy food as well as some nursing right now...mom dog will be weaning them soon. Also, pups will be ready for new homes at 8 weeks old.
    <br />Dogs&#39; lives are too short.&nbsp; Their only fault, really.&nbsp; ~Agnes Sligh Turnbull

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements