Nausea or Bloat?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Nausea or Bloat?

Tinat1 is offline Senior Member

DefaultNausea or Bloat?

My big black lab is very deep chested and the vet seems to think he may be bloating. About once every two weeks he is very sick, slobbering badly and licking his front feet. He tries to eat grass but doesn't have much luck. He is so wet with slober when he finally get better. I started giving him gas-x everytime he acts like this and now I water their dry food before letting them eat. Is this something weird?

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Nausea or Bloat?

Have you talked to your Vet about this? I would let him or her know what's been going on. What kind of kibble do you feed? Sometimes by adding water it will make the kibble swell up more and that can cause problems too.

I'm not a bloat expert but I don't think it would just go away on it's own. Maybe if he's just getting gasy but not actually fully bloating??? I actually think the water in the food would help it should make the kibble expand before they eat so it doesn't in their stomach it will also help so they don't eat as fast which can cause bloat by getting alot of air in their stomach. I would be concerned though if it's happening that often. Sorry I'm not much help but I would definatly have the vet check him out throughtly though.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Yes, the vet told me to soak their food before feeding them and also feed twice daily instead of once. I feed them pedigree dry.
    I just don't understand the slobbering and licking when he is that sick.
    The web page under dog bloat is very helpful, but I don't think this is his problem. It happens too often.
    Sure hope someone can help. He has been to the vet three times this year. Other problems he is facing is anal gland probems.