Question about Otomax.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Question about Otomax.

georgie is offline Senior Member

DefaultQuestion about Otomax.

I had Molly at the vet today for a check up & her booster. I mentioned that when I cleaned her ears, her left ear had a little gunk in it. The vet said her ear was a little red. The vet gave me Otomax. It is like an ointment type otic medicine. She said to put it in her ear & then gently rub it. Someone posted in lab chat that a vet tech told her it could damage the eardrum & cause deafness. So I need to see if anyone has used this ear medicine.
    TIA.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

krisinme is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Question about Otomax.

Georgie,
    Otomax works ok for yeast and ear problems but I much prefer Oticalm just for cleanings or Laura's purple power solution. I have been using the purple power for 4 years now and don't see any reason to purchase anything for yeast or daily cleanings like I used too.
    IMO otimax is too thick to get down into the ear well enough to really get to the source of the problem.

Thanks Kris. I was just worried when I saw that it could damge the eardrum. I have never used an oinmtent, also drops. Since the ear was a little red...I wonder if I should keep using it. Always somethiong to worry about. :

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

I have used it, I've never heard about it causing ear problems. I know the one we have has a long tube, I suppose if you could puncture the eardrum with it. A lab does not have a straight ear canal like a human so its harder to actually get to the eardrum

Thanks Eric. Yes, there is a long red tube on it. I usually get drops. I will use it because I don't want the redness to get worse. It is only 5 to 7 days.

Quote Originally Posted by georgie