Luxating Patella

Thread: Luxating Patella

cabinlady is offline Junior Member

DefaultLuxating Patella

Hi this is my first time here. I have been using another board, but didn't get many answers on my problem so I decided to try out this board. My 9 month old lab Sophie was diagnosed with luxating patella today and my vet wants to wait a couple of weeks to see if she gets worse or anything changes before they do surgery. Is surgery always necessary and is $1000.00 to $1200.00 a resonable amout to pay for this surgery. Sophie has not shown any signs of pain, but holds up her right rear leg from time to time, then puts it back down and every thing seems fine. Any advice would be appreciated! ???
    Amelia&#39;s pups<br />Ginger born in 1997<br />Sophie born Nov 23, 2006

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

CaliforniaLabLover is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Luxating Patella

She probably occasionally holds her leg up because the patella has slipped out of the groove it normally rides in, which tightens the ligament off to the side of the knee. In this position, the patella has to physically be pulled back to the proper position to "click" back into the groove for the leg to be flexed properly again...and in order for the patella to "click," often the leg has to be super-extended so that the tension is relieved on that ligament to allow for the movement. That's why these guys often extend their leg behind them, straightening it out. Over time, this can become a very painful process, and they can develop a lot of arthritis. However, as a youngster, the ligaments and everything are much "looser" if that makes any sense.