switching food...Innova questions

Thread: switching food...Innova questions

ks02 is offline Senior Member

Defaultswitching food...Innova questions

I have been feeding Riley Canidae ALS for several months now supplemented with occasional raw meaty bones and canned EVO at least a few times a week. He seems to have gotten bored or sick of the Canidae, and there are days where he will only eat one meal (1 1/2 cups). I highly doubt this is enough food for him (he's 79 pounds and will turn a year on Sunday) and want him to enjoy what he is eating. So today at the store I compared a few different brands and went back and forth between Eagle Pack Holistic and Innova adult. I had been getting 20 lbs of Canidae for around $24 and can get 16.5 pounds of both EP and Innova for a few dollars more. I decided on the Innova. The ingredients looked a little better, and he really seems to like his occasional treat of the canned EVO. His daily amount of Canidae was right around 3 cups of food, so I am thinking he will need between 2 1/2-3 cups of the Innova since it is a little higher in calories/cup. Is that close for a starting point? I know I will need to base it on his needs, but it's hard for me to judge when I know he's not completely done filling out yet. He's tall and seems a bit lanky to me. For those of you who have experience with Innova, how do/did your dogs like it? Is around $25 a decent price for 16.5 pounds? Maybe I'm completely wrong in doing this, and the Canidae was fine to stick with. He seemed to do well on it with the exception of not always wanting to eat it when offered. I always worry so much about things concerning him, and this is no exception. :-\ Thanks to everyone in advance!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

rileygirl23 is offline Member

DefaultRe: switching food...Innova questions