sirens and howling

Thread: sirens and howling

labbie2 is offline Senior Member

Defaultsirens and howling

My two labs, both two years old, will howl whenever they hear a siren (5-6 miles away) while they are int he backyard. Does this truly hurt their ears?

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Canyon Labradors is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: sirens and howling

I heard that it doesn't hurt their ears, but is rather a throw back to the howling that wolves do. My husband can start howling, and soon enough Hudler joins, then Maddy, then Grace. I don't know if the "wolf pack theory" is really true, but it's true in our house.

skiner is offline Junior Member

hmm, that's interesting. I used to own a lab who did that too. (he's at the rainbow bridge now.) :'(
    Although i'm not an expert, I believe it has something to do with the siren's pitch and frequency, that triggers that. I currently own a mixed-breed (Smooth-coat St. Bernard/lab) that howls whenever one of those large millitary jets go over-head. Weird, i know.
    <br /><br />&quot;Dogs are great, it&#039;s people who give me the headaches...

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Bob Pr. is offline Senior Member

I doubt that a siren 5-6 miles away hurts their ears.

Sirens do produce a number of frequencies above the range of human hearing but that are easily within a dog's hearing range.

However, very high frequencies also dissipate much more quickly than very low frequencies and are much more quickly absorbed/muffled by leaves, grasses, intervening objects, etc.

So it could be the howling sound.
    Puff [YF, AKC field line (from competing HT/FT breeder) 62 lbs, dob: 8-'01]

Bess [BF, AKC bench line (from competing show breeder) 55 lbs., 1967-1981] "Poor Bess, the Wonder Dog":
    http://forum.justlabradors.com/showt...?p=748#post748

labbie2 is offline Senior Member