Feeding enough or not enough?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Feeding enough or not enough?

DefaultFeeding enough or not enough?

Sadie is 3 1/2 months old and at her vet visit last week she weighed 40lbs.* The vet says she looks good, but I am just nervouse she isn't eating enough.* Maybe I am just comparing her to her sister too much!?* Sadie is taller and longer than her sister, but she just seems so skinny to me.* I don't want her to be overweight, but I want her to look healthy.* She is my first dog, so I may be a little overly paranoid about this.* Here are some pictures of her.

That is her sister on the other side of the fence.

What do you think? I feed her 2 rounded cups of food twice a day. According to her bag of food, I am feeding her what is recommended, and I don't increase to 5 cups until she is 5 months old. I know these are just guidelines, but since I am new to this I just don't know for sure.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Ender's Mom is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Feeding enough or not enough?

She looks great to me.

I have the same concerns over Ender... I rather err on the skinny side though for the health reasons.
    ~Lindsay

Mybabymambo Guest

Looks good to me but I am no expert. Very cute might I add.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Trickster is offline Senior Member

She looks good. It is much healthier to keep a dog on the leaner side.

If you are concerned about feeding amounts ask your breeder. Don't follow the back of the bag.

Remember, you should be able to feel but not see her ribs. You might see a bit of rib on a very lean well conditioned adult dog but you should definitely not see ribs on a pup. If you can see ribs, she is too skinny.