Chicken & Rice Diet (Homemade)
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chicken & Rice Diet (Homemade)

DefaultChicken & Rice Diet (Homemade)

Hi. I am new to this message board so if this subject has already been discussed, please forgive me.

I have a two-year old Lab who seems to do fine on dry dog food for a while then will have stomach issues (vomit). I was wondering if anyone on this board has their dog on a homemade chicken (cooked of course) & rice diet and can give any advice for doing this as a permanent diet. Recipes that you use, vitamins that you give in addition to, etc. I am just starting to research this while I am waiting for the vet to get back with me concerning a nutrition book she thinks she has.

Thanks in advance.

[attachment deleted by admin]

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

ruff n tumble crew is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Chicken & Rice Diet (Homemade)

You'll have to be very careful to make the diet balanced. Have you tried the sensitive stomach diets? Do you moisten your dog's dry food? Regardless, I hope you can resolve the problem. Just work closely with your vet to insure a balanced diet.

Yes we have been moistening the dry food. I have not tried the sensitive formula dog food...yet. Just researching options. Just seems like he has a hard time with dog food no matter what formula it is.

Thanks for replying.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

How many times a day are you feeding?

Twice...once in the morning...once in the evening.

Trickster is offline Senior Member

What brand are you feeding and how much of it? sometimes these problems can simply be caused by overfeeding. It could even be an intolerance to one or more ingredients.