Info. on sign's of heat cycle starting!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Info. on sign's of heat cycle starting!

Di
    Di is offline Senior Member

DefaultInfo. on sign's of heat cycle starting!

initally put this in lab chat, but maybe this is more approbriate. Really would like any insight anyone might have- IHave Sammi schd. to be spayed in 4 day's, couple of day's ago noticed she is very swollen in the vulva area. I'm pretty new at this but worried this may be a sign that she is going into heat....., if so I will put off having her spayed, and let her go thru her first heat. Know some feel this is a good idea anyway. Just wasn't sure I wanted to put her or myself through it. Do you think I'm correct about her going into heat?? Your thought's are greatly appreciated. Thank's- Sammi's mom- Diana

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Info. on sign's of heat cycle starting!

If she is swollen she is probably going into heat. You should notice blood soon but it may be a week.

Quote Originally Posted by FieldLabLover
    If she is swollen she is probably going into heat. You should notice blood soon but it may be a week.
    I agree, the other symptoms Lizzie had just before her first heat were.. excessive cleaning around this area, sighing and whinging alot.. how old is she?

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

I did notice Mocha being swollen down there about a week before she started bleeding too. I would say wait for the spay just be safe.

Di

she is 6 1/2 months, but no doubt now, the bleeding started last night. So now she is in protective custody ;D. She seem's pretty quite, I assume that is normal. But makes it a little easier since there will be no walk's at the doggy park or river. Thank's for the info.Have heard that bleeding usually last around 1-2wk's. and another 1-2 wk's, befor she might be all the way done. Does this sound right?

Labsrme is offline Senior Member