Giardia and/or coccida...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Giardia and/or coccida...

Labs4me is offline Senior Member

DefaultGiardia and/or coccida...

how do you tell the difference between the two?
    Bonnie ~ Ellsworth Labradors
    Home to Ellsworth's Playing For Keeps CGC, U-CH SHR Ellsorth's Absolut Pleasure, Ellsworth's Good Luck Charm
    Gone but not forgotten: Franklin's Lucy of Ellsworth; Franklin's Rare Treat; U-CD Franklin's Rockin' Robin CDX, WC, CGC; Alpha-Omega's Mustang Salli CDX, CGC

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

ThatsMyGirl Guest

DefaultRe: Giardia and/or coccida...

I'm no expert, but I believe they are both organisms that cause loose stools and gas. Since the symptoms are the same, I would assume that your vet could tell via a stool sample, although I know from personal experience that Giardia cysts don't show up in every sample. I don't know if that's true of Coccidia or not. I think (but again not sure) that Coccidia is more common in puppies than adults.

labby is offline Senior Member

Only a fecal check will tell the difference.

Laura

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Both Coccidia and Giardia are protozoan pathogens that cause the same types of symptoms, and both are contracted the fecal oral route. The only definitive way to distinguish the two is by examining a fecal sample under the microscope. Both are also very contagious, and Coccidia is deadly, so early treatment is the best plan.

CaliforniaLabLover is offline Senior Member

I agree with Labby- only a fecal examination (under the microscope) can tell the difference. Giardia is easily missed by the majority of veterinarians, but there is no mistaking coccidia- it is pretty darned obvious to anyone who has looked through a microscope if it is enough of an infection to cause diarrhea. In humans (well, some animals, too), giardia is also known for causing sulfur-smelling gas (belches and farts).