New Member hoping for some advice
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: New Member hoping for some advice

UnhappyNew Member hoping for some advice

Hi Everyone,
    I am new to this, not only the board but lab puppies too,(I've had a Persian Kitty for 17 years...not quite the same).
    I've really enjoyed looking through the posts and pictures here. I decided to post my question, as everyone's situation is a little different. We have 2 puppies that are now 4 and 5 months from 2 different breeders. Our older puppy Bella, more often than not, has diarreah. We've had numerous stool samples, and they've specifically checked for giardia and coccidea. Although she did test positive for coccidea at the end of January, the vet prescribed Panacur,then re-tested and said the coccidea was gone. I have let the vet know that Bella keeps having this problem, and she just always says, "Oh, she must be getting into something." That is not possible, as both puppies are strictly indoors, until the youngest puppies shots are complete.
    My question is, we had Bella & Bailey on Science Diet Large Breed Puppy, then I read bad things about it online, so we just bought Wellness large breed puppy last night. Now I'm reading that there's too much calcium for puppies in this food and it seems like other people have experienced more diarreah with the Wellness. I am so confused now! I am also wondering if we should have blood work drawn at this point, and could the constant diarreah/loose poo mean she has a serious health problem? The vet says she's healthy, but I'm starting to wonder....Bailey doesn't have the diarreah, and they eat the same food. We don't give any table scraps. Just limited treats.
    Any advice/similar experience would be greatly appreciated.
    Thank you,
    Lisa

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

zoezoe is offline Senior Member