Advice please - sores on top lips of our new puppy

Thread: Advice please - sores on top lips of our new puppy

chocolatelabs is offline Junior Member

QuestionAdvice please - sores on top lips of our new puppy

P1220327.jpgP1220326.jpg

Hi everyone, we have been subscribers to the Just Labs Magazine for years, but this is my first time in the forums.

On Jan. 26th we took home our new chocolate lab puppy, we named him Harley. Harley is our 3rd chocolate lab.
    We have Hunter (9) and Hailey (6) at home along with a grey kitty named Koda (16).

On the ride home, I felt hard lumps in his top lips. One on each side. A few days later, one side was opened and a little oozy looking.
    We thought he had rubbed his face on his kennel bars since he didn't like being in his kennel and barked a lot.

On the evening of Jan. 30th, we noticed that both sides of his top lips were open and oozy. One side even had a little bloody discharge.
    He had his 1st vet visit the very next day and our vet didn't even notice the lip sores. We didn't mention them because a friend thought it was just puppy acne and that if we kept it clean and dry, the areas would clear up on their own. We didn't want this small issue put into his vet records because it would be considered a pre-existing condition on his major medical insurance policy. (just bought the policy on the Jan. 16th)