Support for Millie?
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Support for Millie?

SarahJN is offline Member

DefaultSupport for Millie?

Hi! I'm a newbie on the forum called Sarah. I live in St. Ives, Cornwall, in England.
    Millie, my three and a half year old black lab, is eight kilograms overweight - which classes her as Obese. Last year she was only 30 kilos (which made her 4 kilos overweight anyway) but now she has put on an additional 4 kilos over one year.
    She is not spayed, which makes her predicament even more strange, because I started exercising her more and reducing her diet last year.

She is fed a Tesco Complete Dry Dog Food (about a handful) with half a can of food each day. I no longer feed her titbits (she used to get small dog biscuits once a week, but no longer does), and I am now walking her twice daily (one walk to a field with a game of fetch, and one country walk which lasts about an hour) instead of just once. I would try feeding her two small meals a day but I can't because I go to University during the day, and I can't trust anyone else to do it because they'll forget or feed her too much, despite the fact we have a reversible note saying whether the dogs have been fed or not.

We're looking for a low calorie mixer instead of the complete food, but I can't think how else to help her lose weight. I have a lack of support at home as my Dad likes to pretend there's nothing wrong with her and leaves food on counters, on floors, and generally in places where it's easily accessible. He isn't making it easy for her to succeed and claims that the Vet is exaggerating her weight problems and its expected effects on her health.

There are five people in the house. My Mum and Dad work long hours but never exercise Millie at all (they are quite busy). My brother works occasionally but also never exercises her. My cousin does on occasion but not often, and he works long hours too.