Are these Seizures? Help please!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Are these Seizures? Help please!

SweetRuiN is offline Member

DefaultAre these Seizures? Help please!

Hello everyone, been forever since I was on the board and I hope you all are well.

I just had an extremely upsetting incident with Chloe, my 3yo chocolate lab, and I think it was a seizure but I have ZERO experience with such.

We were walking into the living room, and all of a sudden she brought her front legs up in front of her and I thought she was caught on something, but then she eased onto the floor and half-laid on her side, with her whole body rigid like that, as though she was paralyzed and couldn't move. I think it last about two minutes, but I wasn't keeping an eye on the clock.

She finally started to come out of it, and only THEN did my husband tell me this happened once before about a month ago. He had dropped a pot on the kitchen floor and it startled her, and she went into one of these episodes. He thought she was frozen with fear/anxiety, but what I saw tonight sounds an awful lot like a mild seizure.

She has been acting absolutely normal all day, all week, and has no history of this that I'm aware of. She wasn't drooling or paddling her feet, but was just completely frozen.

Chloe has a history of health problems. She has an allergy which causes her to break-out on her muzzle, belly and paws, which my latest Vet was convinced was an allergy to beef in her diet (though I feed her chicken-based dog food). It's been a very long, very difficult road for her and she's just the sweetest thing. I am absolutely heartbroken if she is starting to have ANOTHER serious problem.

Any help you can offer would be wonderful. She's fine now, and wanting to play, but I'm calling a Vet first thing in the morning. We just moved to Denver last month, so I guess I'll pick a highly rated Vet and start there.

Thank you for reading.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements