NLR-hip dysplasia

Thread: NLR-hip dysplasia

Canula2000 is offline Senior Member

DefaultNLR-hip dysplasia

My rottweiler has mild hip dysplasia in his right hip. Last month he began to yelp once or twice when getting up from naps and such. Yesterday after playing frisbee he had slight limp. Can I assume his hip is bothering him? Vet told us his hip was so mild it wouldn't bother him until he was old, and in fact encouraged us to run agility. Dog is four years now. I keep him thin so weight isn't issue.

"Every boy should have two things: a dog, and a mother willing to let him have one"
    - Anonymous

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

kassabella is offline Senior Member

I am no expert, but have lived with H.D for 4 years, and if he is yelping he is in pain. When did the vets do the xray to diagnose the H.D. Why I ask is when I adopted Ernie 4 years ago we suspected he had H.D. My first vet said yes, without xrays and don't do anything and wait until he was older, then fill him with drugs. I wanted to know for sure and prefered to manage it before it became bad so went to another vet who xrayed and yes was H.D. Only way to positively diagnose iit is by xray. They check all the joints at the same time and Erns were worse than we thought.

I was told no frisbee. It is the jumping and spinning suddenly that puts too much strain on the hips. I was also told not to do agility unless he was fit, (he wasn't at the time) no more than 30 mins walk and if possible swimming. Swimming has made a huge difference. I know they need to be dogs, but to save him pain I do watch his activity. Not too much and not too little, and keep the weight down. Glucosamine is also good for their joints.
    Last edited by kassabella; 02-13-2010 at 04:29 PM.

Kassa 25/11/01 - 09/02/05 O.S Jaw cancer forever in my heart.
    Ernie 25/11/01 adopted May 05
    Sam 11? adopted Nov 06 - 18/12/07 Lyphoma
    Tessa. Rescued June 2011.