Neutering question:
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Neutering question:

Retriever Mama is offline Senior Member

DefaultNeutering question:

So Remy is about a year now and hasn't been neutered yet. We wanted to wait til he filled out a little and there was a possibility we might show him. Well, he's definitely filled out (he's a tank) and it doesn't look like we will be able to take on the time commitments for showing him.

So, here is my question: what can I expect for changes in him if we get him neutered? He's my first male so I'm new to this. What can I expect from the surgery? Any reason we should wait longer? All opinions greatly appreciated.
    Melissa, Remy & Brooklyn

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

kaznalf is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Neutering question:

I had Alfie done at 14 months...my vet told me the hormone would be out of his sytem within 6 months if not sooner. I noticed mostly in him that his aggression stopped..he used to growl at other intact males. He still marks alot outside but it doesnt affect his concerntration anymore.

Also he filled out more when we had him done as he was quite lanky. Only thing is he still has his pouch.

Baloo317 is offline Senior Member

My goal was to wait until Baloo was at LEAST 18 months, and in all honesty, pending good behaviour I would have left him intact indefinitely (obviously that requires quite a bit of vigilance).

However, he hit 15 months and had the hormone-surge-from-hell and started obsessively humping any other dog he could get near. I neutered him at that point and no more humping.

Other than the greatly reduced sexual assault attempts and better focus in training, I noticed no differences in his behaviour at all. No, he most definitely did NOT "settle down", LOL!

Overall, I think when to neuter is a personal decision that many factors play a part in.

Here's a few good reads:
    http://www.akcchf.org/pdfs/whitepape...iesArticle.pdf