An exciting new prospect...
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: An exciting new prospect...

Kate3jays is offline Senior Member

DefaultAn exciting new prospect...

As some of you may know, i work in a school for children with special learning needs.

Some of them have severe learning difficulties, others just moderate needs, then there are those that have profound and multiple needs too.

The children range in age between 3 and 6 and have various conditions such as Downe's syndrone, Angelman's syndrone, autismn, global delay, blindness, deafness and physical disabilities to name but a few.

Today was "pet's" day at school and a lot of the staff brought in a pet and their belongings to show the children.

We had a cat, a rat, guinea pigs, giant African land snails, a rabbit, a lizard and my Jed.

Jed has had a super day, he has enjoyed every minute of it and behaved impecably amongst the children.

He brought smiles the the childrens' faces and conquered the fear of others who were afraid of him at first.

At the end of the day my boss, the school principal, came to me and commented on what a great dog he was and how well behaved he'd been and what an impact he'd had on the kids.

She then went on to say had i thought about training him as a therapy dog and if i did could he come into school 2 or 3 times a week and be the school dog?

I was so proud and am now really excited at the prospect. I need to look into it more and see if they think he could make the grade but I don't see any reason why not, unless they think he may be a bit young.

So watch this space young Jed may be having a career change!

"some days you are the dog, some days you are the tree!"
    Kate mom to Jed Jasmine and Joelly
    http://www.glosmerelabradors.co.uk/#

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Beerfish is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: An exciting new prospect...