Electric fence.
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electric fence.

DefaultElectric fence.

I know a number of people have these, but I have no experience with them. As some of you read, last night it looked like a bad episode of Prison Break last night! Was wondering if and E fence is a viable option for a high energy dog. A couple questions.

1) Are they all the same? Collar >> Beep >> Shock?

2) What if the dog completely ignores it if there is ever another great escape?

3) How safe is this for the dog?

4) Whats the best bang for your buck and where should I get it?

Any input at all would be wonderful! We don't plan on having our dogs off leash while outside not fenced in or even off leash with a E-Fence but last night made me realize they can easily get away. Never had a dog just run off like that

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Anne is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Electric fence.

We use the IF (Invisible Fence) brand. Due to the way our property is laid out this is the best option for us. However, this does not mean it is the best option for everyone. We are the last house on a dirt, dead end road. Yet, we still go out with the dogs...every time they are out.

What is important to remember is that the IF is NOT 100% reliable. Ever. Additionally, the IF does not prevent other dogs/cats/people from entering your yard.

However, it does work. Training is KEY. We spent close to a month training the dogs. Our big dogs have never broken the boundary. (In fact, they don't wear their collars any more....but, shh, don't tell them that! :P) The puppy has not been trained on it yet. Will probably wait until she is around a year old before that happens.

Our IF gives a warning 'beep' prior to electric correction. I *think* this is variable and programmable....but not sure.