Nikon D40 Camera

Thread: Nikon D40 Camera

fburke is offline Senior Member

DefaultNikon D40 Camera

Sorry I know I should post this in odds and ends but so may great pictures here i had to ask

Does any one have any experience with the Nikon D40 Digital SLR Camera? I guess itís the replacement for the D50 but is missing a few features of the D70 and not as fancy or expensive as the D40x.

This would be my first SLR so I'm pretty new to the camera market. I had my eye on a Sony A100 but the price is pretty steep compared to the Nikon and even though the Sony is a 10.0 mp and the Nikon is a 6.0 I couldn't see the difference in the picture quality when I compared them.

I'm just an amateur looking to take grate pictures of my kids and Lab's I'm not looking to make a living at it.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Nikon D40 Camera

I've got one! I love it!!

I bought mine in October of last year. I hear that they are thinking of discontinuing the D40 and just running with the D40x and the "higher" models, so you may be in a position to get a good deal.

This is my first D-SLR and I'm finding it really easy to use. The D40x and the "higher" models were just too much camera for me, and beyond what I would probably ever use. So that really factored in to my decision.

Here are some good links that I found helpful:

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/recommended-cameras.htm
    http://www.kenrockwell.com/nikon/d40.htm
    Ken Rockwell's site is actually really informative!!

Here are a few others:
    http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/nikond40/
    http://www.steves-digicams.com/2007_...nikon_d40.html

Tanya is offline Senior Member