Neem Oil, Fleas and Itching
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Neem Oil, Fleas and Itching

AngusFangus is offline Senior Member

DefaultNeem Oil, Fleas and Itching

OK, I have a stupid question:

Would I be able to see fleas? Or evidence of fleas?

Back story: I stopped giving them Advantix to try Neem Oil. I've been spraying them once weekly for oh, a couple of months. I was hoping to get them (especially Angus) off chemicals whenever possible.

Simon has gotten VERY itchy the past couple of weeks. He's scratching at his trunk and front legs quite a bit. He was scratching this way before, when he had the bacterial skin infection. We got him antibiotics and it seemed to clear up.

Now Angus, in the past few days, is doing a little scratching too.

I have looked very, very closely at their skin, especially on their bellies where it seems to be bothering them, and I can't see any fleas or flea dirt. ??? What I have noticed with Simon is a lot of dry, flaky skin...like doggie dandruff. Nothing like this on Angus, but he has the itchies too.

So I bought some fish oil caplets today. I am wondering whether I should try those, or just bite the bullet and dose them with Advantix again.

The question is: If it were fleas, wouldn't I see *something*?

TIA

Connie and "The Boys":
    Angus, Yellow Lab, CGC, RE, CD
    Simon, d.b.a. Flat Coated Retriever, CGC, RE, CD

Gone ahead, but forever in my heart:
    Crash, Pit Bull x Rottweiler x Golden Retriever

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

EMA
    EMA is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Neem Oil, Fleas and Itching