Beginner Obedience Classes
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner Obedience Classes

EMA
    EMA is offline Senior Member

DefaultBeginner Obedience Classes

Hi All...
    I've been reading for awhile now, but just registered today.

I've taught beginner obedience at my local obedience club once before (last summer) and am going to teach it again in a few weeks. I have lots of experience (I've been training dogs for 9-10 years now - I'm 20) - I've trained my own dogs plus a bunch of private clients during that time. I train for and compete with my guys in AKC obedience/rally/agility and I also trained for a few years in Schutzhund.

My club had originally tailored these beginner classes for pre-novice work; but I know most of the people that come will want just a well behaved house dog, not a competition dog. Of course on the first day I will find out what my students want out of the class and then tailor my lesson plans to that; but I am wondering for those of you that have taken a beginners class recently (or not so recently) if there was any activities or things you concentrated on that were very helpful? Things that weren't helpful at all? Keep in mind that I will likely have 8-12 students and can't make everyone happy at the same time because the students will likely be at different levels in the beginner stages (for example - if you taught your puppy sit before you went to obedience class and then the trainer taught you how to sit your dog; I can't take it out b/c some people's dogs do not sit and some of the owners don't have the knowledge of how to teach it)