HELP COMPUTER WHIZES
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: HELP COMPUTER WHIZES

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,559

    DefaultHELP COMPUTER WHIZES

    (YES WHIZ LIKE CHEEZ WHIZ!)

    I got a new printer and I can't install it...I have tried several times but I keep getting the same error:

    RPS server is unavailable

    When I went to the MS site, they said to go to command prompt and run, then 'net start rpcss'....But alas, I am not printing.

    HELP ME! This is so frustrating! I just want to print one page!

  2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    2,541

    DefaultRe: HELP COMPUTER WHIZES

    Not a whiz, but, have you selected the printer as your printer of choice at the printer page?

    That did not sound too bright but, when installing a printer there appears a page with a couple of printers on there, one is marked default. The other may be the one you want but until you click on it, it won't print. Once clicked it becomes your default printer. It's in control panel, then the folder printers and faxes. I have 4 choices in there and one of them I have never had hooked up! Or in my house even....

    If that isn't it I have no clue................... I hope I helped...............

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,559

    DefaultRe: HELP COMPUTER WHIZES

    When in control panel, and I select ADD A PRINTER it says that I can't...blasted!

  5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    139

    DefaultRe: HELP COMPUTER WHIZES

    What printer is it?

    Did it not come with software?

  7. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,559

    DefaultRe: HELP COMPUTER WHIZES

    Yes it came with software, When it is finished installing the software it comes up as

    PRINTER DRIVER NOT INSTALLED. PLEASE INSTALL YOUR PRINTER DRIVER.


  8. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    139

    DefaultRe: HELP COMPUTER WHIZES

    If you have a software disk, there's no need to "add a printer" from control panel.
    How do you have the printer connected to the PC? Is it USB? If so, is it connecte3d directly to the back of the PC, or a USB hub?

    Can you please tell me the name brand printer?

  9. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    2,559

    DefaultRe: HELP COMPUTER WHIZES

    Its a Lexmark 3300.

    When I plugged in the USB cable, it came up add new hardware using software, I clicked yes, it did it's thing...then the end result was "RPC server unavailable"

    the scanner is working

  10. #8
    Jeep274 is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Bucks Co., PA
    Posts
    745

    DefaultRe: HELP COMPUTER WHIZES

    When you say the scanner is working, do you mean it is communicating with the computer, or that the scanner is simply functioning? If you have another USB port, I would try plugging it into that one. I recently installed a Lexmark printer for my parents and had similar problems. I simply switched USB ports and the computer recognized it.

  11. #9
    3TailsWaggin's Avatar
    3TailsWaggin is offline Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    10,258

    DefaultRe: HELP COMPUTER WHIZES

    I recently installed an Epson and had to uninstall it and reinstall to get it to communicate with my computer. You might try that.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25