New to Forum - need some help with my foster dog...

Thread: New to Forum - need some help with my foster dog...

MumtoEllie is offline Senior Member

DefaultNew to Forum - need some help with my foster dog...

Hi all,

I am new to the Forum (I have been lurking for several months now). Although I am relatively new to labs, I foster for my local lab rescue group. I am mum to my beautiful chocolate girl Ellie (who I adopted through the rescue) and currently have one foster, a 6-7 year old black male. He is a pretty good dog but hasn't exactly led the life of luxury. He was fed very poor quality food at his former shelter and spent most his time in a concrete run. As a result, he has a very poor coat and dry, flakey skin with serious dandruff. ICK! He was STINKY when we first got him, despite several baths. The stink is mostly gone, but his coat is still pretty icky. He has some areas that very bare (like under his chin) as well as several "hot spots" that he picks at regularly.

I know alot of this is due to his previous poor diet and lack of exercise. I am currently feeding him a premium dry dog food as well as a raw egg once per week. I give him a tablespoon of olive oil a few times per week as well. Is there a doggie dandruff shampoo that may help? Or will having another bath just irritate his skin even more? I know labs don't need baths much - we have only bathed Ellie once when we first got her. How long should I wait before I start considering skin allergies? He doesn't seem to scratch himself much. Maybe the good diet takes a month or so to show affects to his coat? He is a bit overweight as well (which doesn't help his bum hip much) so we have been trying to give him as much exercise as possible.

Thanks in advance for your advice!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

RangerMom is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: New to Forum - need some help with my foster dog...