? for those who rescue

Thread: ? for those who rescue

Default? for those who rescue

I've been volenteering at our local humane society for about 6 months now. I walk the dogs twice a week. There are a lot of full blooded dogs there as well as cute mixes of course. A while back there was a full blooded Weimeriner there. He was super sweet loved to play and seemed to have some training. I contacted the local Weim rescue to see if they had room to take him hopeing they could find him a more suitable home than just someone who thought he was cute and adopted him and returned him because they didn't knwo what they were getting. The lady from the rescue was very nice but said she didn't think she could help as in the past the HS has been very unwilling to let the rescues have the dogs. She said last summer one of their volenteers tried to pull a dog from there and they wouldn't let them they even offered to pay the $255 fee they were asking and they said no. She said the only time they will allow them to have a dog is if it has problems and they don't want to put it up for adoption. This kind of baffled me why would they not let the rescue take the dog and get it into foster care? There are several full blodded labs there now as well along with tons of mixes of course.

Sorry this is so long I guess my questions for those who rescue are.
    1. Where do you normally get the dogs is it just local pounds AC facilites that are high kill or do you get some from Humane societies as well?
    2. Have you found this to be the case where you are? The local HS isn't cooperative?

I guess my thinking is certain dogs like a Weim or Lab that are really good dogs but not a dog for everyone would be better in a rescue where they are most likely in a home until found a home that understands what they are getting.