Wolf hybrids
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Wolf hybrids

WigWag Guest

DefaultWolf hybrids

I thought I would start a new topic so it wouldn't get buried in the other.

Years ago I worked as a vet tech while in undergraduate school and for two years before graduate school to save up some money. Anyway we saw two wolf hybrids. The owners were very knowledgable so I gleaned a lot from them. They lived in Alaska and purchased them from a well known breeder out there. One was 1/4 wolf and 3/4 Malamute and the other was 1/2 wolf and 1/2 Malamute. They do NOT make good house dogs. They are very destructive and don't housebreak well. They had a lot more land in Alaska and then moved to MA and had a pretty good sized fenced backyard where the dogs lived. They were allowed inside their finished basement at night to watch t.v. but that was it. When they came to the vet they were always good - a little rowdy but they were never aggressive. They were both males and neutered and very very tall - Great Dane tall and one weighed 115 lbs and the other was 130 lbs. They were big and impressive. I was taken with them. After owning and loving them for 5 years they turned on the owner one day. They got out of their enclosure and she went to catch them in the front yard - something that had happend before with no incidences. They suddenly turned on her and bit her badly in the hands and arms and face. They ran off. They were easily caught by the animal control officer. The owner took them back with open arms - she accepted their wild side and said she would be more careful.

Wolf hybrids in my opinion a ridiculous idea. People think they are dogs and they are not. They are wild animals. They maul their owners and children all the time. If someone has one and it's normal and friendly it's whole life they are very very lucky - like playing with a loaded gun and as luck would have it you don't pull the trigger too hard.

http://leerburg.com/wolfcross.htm

2. Remove Advertisements