Grooming
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Grooming

DefaultGrooming

Is there a grooming "best advice" thread anywhere like there is for training advice in the training forum?

So far I've been clipping my dog's nails on my own and brushing his teeth from time to time...and I don't really like it (and I don't think he does either). I can't afford to take him out somewhere to get his nails clipped every couple weeks, but I'm looking for any other options. I've heard something about grinding dog's nails. How does that work? Is it easier than clipping? More comfortable for the dog? He's got black nails, so I'm finding it very hard to figure out where the quick is and avoid cutting it. I cut it once and now I'm afraid to cut anywhere close, so his nails are just constantly long.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Grooming

I was a professional groomer for 5 years before kids. My favorite thing to use for grinding nails down is a Dremel tool! It tickles the dog's feet so it takes a few times to get used to it, but it's quick and works great.

kassabella is offline Senior Member

No we don't have a grooming thread. Sorry can't help.

My vet told me if the dog is walked on the pavement it will file down the nails. Ernie runs around the out door table so on one side the nails are short and the other longer.

Kassa 25/11/01 - 09/02/05 O.S Jaw cancer forever in my heart.
    Ernie 25/11/01 adopted May 05
    Sam 11? adopted Nov 06 - 18/12/07 Lyphoma
    Tessa. Rescued June 2011.
    Bone Cancer Dogs org.http://www.bonecancerdogs.org/
    http://kassabella.tripod.com/kassabella/
    http://collarsbychris.weebly.com/

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

oh, for the quicks, they are coming out with nail clippers that find them to prevent cutting them.

http://www.petgadgets.com/product_de...&content_id=15