to remove the dewclaws or not to remove?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: to remove the dewclaws or not to remove?

Defaultto remove the dewclaws or not to remove?

I have 2 chocolate labs and often wondered wheather or not removing the dewclaw is a good choice.
    I've noticed very little to no difference in speed,agility,etc in other people's dogs who had them removed.
    Does it harm them in snow if they are outside? Mine are outside 75% of the time. They love it outside(unless its dinner time).
    They have 3500 acres to themselfs(I'm a farmer) and are very loved by my 5 year old. Will the dewclaw being gone make it tougher
    on the dog since they're naturally there for a reason or is it actually best to remove them.
    I can understand most of you disagree with having outside dogs,but again we're out in the country and they come in as they please.
    Would prefer someone OUTSIDE of any city limits to respond, Or someone with working Knowledge of hunting dogs.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Anne is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: to remove the dewclaws or not to remove?

IMO, dewclaws are best removed. If left untrimmed, the claw can actually grow back into the skin. Also, because of it's placement it is prone to catch on something, and could possibly tear off.

Having said that, if your dog's dewclaws are still present, it is truly no big deal. I know loads of dogs who still retain their dewclaws and haven't suffered any problems.

Murphy, Riley, and Piper

Kathryn Guest

To answer your question about the dew claws they are now a digit and removing it would cause pain that isnt needed. IF they are going to be removed they should be done before 5 days of age. The only time I have heard of ones being removed is because it got ripped really bad from falling off a camper stairs or its nail grew into the leg. Mud my uncles dog hunted every season and NEVER had any trouble till he ripped it falling off the stairs.