Need some Help

Thread: Need some Help

DefaultNeed some Help

First - Im new here and my name is Dave. Im new to labs so these may sound like dumb questions.

Second - Is 9 months old to old to start training a dog for duck hunting? He has basic commands down and heels fairly well.

Third - What are some sure signs of hip displasia? I have had him to 2 vets and neither took exrays.

I really love this dog and dont wanna get rid of him but want one that I can train for duck hunting. If he has the hip displasia, about how much is the operation to fix it if at all possible. I just dont know what to do.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Need some Help

31 views and noone can tell me anything? :

You are probably not getting many responses bc I don't think many people frequent the board who have hunting labs..I could be wrong. Anyway, I don't, but I would think just based upon training a pet labrador that 9 months would not be too young at all. You probably could have started at 6 months. Again, I really have no clue but that is my opinion bc everyone on here usually starts training their labs in some shape or form as soon as they come home.
    As far as hip problems. Where did you buy your dog? Did you get papers from the breeder as well as the health certificates? If you did not (be it whether you recused your lab or just bought from a shoddy source) then you just have to wait to see about hip problems. Why are you concerned? Is your lab showing some signs of being sore in the legs or something? I have heard (and again, I am no expert) that IF a dog has hip dysplasia that it usually shows up around 2 years old. To be honest I also have no idea what corrective surgery can be done at that point. Why did you take the dog to the vet and what did the vet say? Did you express these concerns to the vet? You can find a LOT of info online regarding this problem and how it is dealt with.