Need some medical advice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need some medical advice

einstein's legacy is offline Senior Member

DefaultNeed some medical advice

Duncan's been licking his right front paw for ...upon further inspection it looks as if the nail (entire nail) has lifted from the dewclaw. The area under the nail looks very pink. He's very black so it's hard to see exactly what the problem is. He's running and playing and not whiny but he is licking the paw (not all the time, just when relaxing).

I was thinking of putting Neosporin on the wound and bandaging, any suggestions??

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Need some medical advice

anyone ?????

AbbyandMolly is offline Senior Member

I'm no expert but I would at least try that especially if you can get him to keep the bandage on. I hope Duncan feels better soon.
    *Stacey*
    ~Abby, Molly, and Penny (the honorary lab)

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

My little angel actually let me wrap his paw. I put a generous amount of neosporin on a gauze pad and on his injury then wrapped it in "Tender Tape". This tape is sticks to itself. So far he's just relaxing on the rug. I don't know whether to remove it in a few hours or to leave it on till tomorrow. At least I know I got the anitbiotic creme in there to avoid infection. The neosporin also has pain reliever in it.

AbbyandMolly is offline Senior Member

awww good boy duncan :-*
    *Stacey*
    ~Abby, Molly, and Penny (the honorary lab)

Quote Originally Posted by einsteins legacy
    upon further inspection it looks as if the nail (entire nail) has lifted from the dewclaw.* The area under the nail looks very pink.*

I was thinking of putting Neosporin on the wound and bandaging, any suggestions??