Cross Post: Corn on the cob
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cross Post: Corn on the cob

DefaultCross Post: Corn on the cob

Hi All!

I looked at the unsafe food list @ http://www.lacetoleather.com/fataltodogs.html and I can't find anything about corn on the cob. I'm going to make some tonight with dinner and Lexie is teething, I thought she might enjoy a gnawing on a piece. I just don't want to give it to her if it would hurt her.

Thanks!

Robin

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Cross Post: Corn on the cob

I'm no expert, so don't take my word as complete truth, but I don't think that'd be a good idea.* She could possibly chew off some pieces of the cob, causing an obstruction.* Just my thoughts, but I would definitely find out from someone else before you give her any.

Edited for clarity* -- by all means, kernels of corn won't hurt her.

Corn is fine, it's almost all roughage and won't be digested. My first lab used to eat the kernels off the cob and leave the cob.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

OH Be careful!!!!! Corn on the cobs are not digestable. Trooper's friend Copa swallowed one and had to have all these X-rays done. It was a nightmare for them. I never knew that until it happened to him. They were worried he would have to have surgery. I am not sure how it ended up coming out.

ruff n tumble crew is offline Senior Member

Only under EXTREME supervision!! I have seen cases where the cob was ingested in large pieces which resulted in surgery for blockages.

It wasn't a lab, it was our daughter's white boxer....a few summers ago, we gave her a taste of corn on the cob; she loved it. We gave her the whole cob to eat. She didn't eat the cob, but ate the corn off ot it. She held it in her hands almost like a human, it was so cute.