Mucous Poop
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mucous Poop

DefaultMucous Poop

Riley has been having loose poop off and on for about a month....it seems like there is a mucous in it, looks kind of like snot or egg whites...I've never seen this before, what do you think? And when he has to go, he HAS TO GO. I was up 4 times last night letting him out to poop. Could it be worms? Does it sound like we need to go to the vet?* :-\*

(I would post a pic...but I'm sure you don't all want to see Riley's mucous poop...)

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

DefaultRe: Mucous Poop

Hi
    I'm not an expert on these things so others may be qualified to give you better advice.* However we did have the same thing with Oliver.* His poo was loose and then all of a sudden it went "snot covered" and sometimes even a drop of blood.* We took him to the vets quick (seeing blood scared us!).* Vet said that Oliver's colon was agiatated (colitis).* It was due to his duet.* Either all the junk that (being a young puppy at the time) he was supplimenting his meals with or it was his actual food.* We had a starve him for 24 hours then through a process of elimination (no joke intended ) work out what was causing the problem.* It turned out to be his food.* We stitched to a different feed for sensitive tummies and he's been fine since.* I would stress that this was our experience only, please see a vet, we're so pleased we did.

forgot to mention, the vet was also able to give Oliver some tablets to help his tummy calm down and give him a vit/mineral boost.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Lilprincee is offline Senior Member