Crash Ch. 3: His fifteen minutes
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Crash Ch. 3: His fifteen minutes

AngusFangus is offline Senior Member

DefaultCrash Ch. 3: His fifteen minutes

Chapter Three

Crash's Fifteen Minutes

I'm sure everyone knows by now what an incurable stage mother I am.* ;D Crash was about two years old when he became a local celebrity. They say everyone has their "fifteen minutes." Well, Crash had fifteen billboards!

I was a graphic designer trying to build a portfolio to advance my career to art director. I was taking a class in which we had to design something for an ad campaign. Since we could do anything we wanted, I decided to design a poster for “Dog Day,” a fundraising event sponsored by the Nashville Humane Association. Naturally, I used Crash for all the materials.*

Crash absolutely loved to have his picture taken, and would pose for me endlessly. I have an entire roll of film taken of him posing with a three foot rawhide bone. He didn't eat it until we were done shooting...he just assumed various fetching, adorable poses. He put his paw on it, rested his chin on it, carried it about the yard. He was a very agreeable model.

Here is another good example of his willingness to please the photographer. This wagon was not stabilized in any way. He had to sit in it and be very still to prevent it from rolling. Looking back, I think this shows amazing trust on his part, to get into something so unsteady under his feet and sit there, very peacefully, while I took half a roll of film. (And doesn't he look sweet in the little red wagon?)