Some thoughts on pup vs oldster care
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Some thoughts on pup vs oldster care

Paddysmom is offline Senior Member

DefaultSome thoughts on pup vs oldster care

The thread by rmcbuckeye and Ryder's 3 mile walk left me thinking about this. Although my thread is not breed-specific, I think it applies all around. I have several breeds in my home.

Paddy was my first-ever dog (1996) and I was C-L-U-E-L-E-S-S!!! Absolutely clueless. But I started learning... FAST.

What I've been thinking since the Ryder thread is that we carefully monitor our dogs as pups. What they eat, how they play, how they interact with other dogs and cats and kids and adults and humans in hats and... and... and. We teach them to comply with commands, we encourage all the good behaviors. By the time the dog (whatever breed) is fully developed and trained we're at about two years or so. Then (hopefully) we all go on autopilot. They know what to do and what not to do, we know their limits and blah blah blah. But we go carefully on our way, not too worried, let them seek their full potential. Puppyhood is over!

Then, ten years later, you begin to tune in to things. It takes experience, it takes heartbreak. You listen for a footfall that isn't right or anything that is *off*: "Do I hear a back paw dragging a bit?" "Do I see a gait that isn't right?" "Do I see you holding your body in an unusual way?" "Do I see you staring at a leaf when you ordinarily would be chasing it?" "Did you not just eat your favorite meal?" "Did you just slightly wince when I rubbed your ear?"

And we begin the caretaking all over again. For so many years they just... GO! They do their thing! They are healthy, happy dogs! You know what they are capable of and so do they. And we all go happily on our way.

And then one day? One day? You're providing puppy-like care. Only this time they won't reach their stride. They've done that.