Possible future lab owner...Stories, experiences, advice?
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Possible future lab owner...Stories, experiences, advice?

BNS10 is offline Member

DefaultPossible future lab owner...Stories, experiences, advice?

Hey there! I'm new to this forum! My boyfriend and I are looking into purchasing a lab for our pug sometime next year. I have zero experience with Labs, but I grew up with Goldens. Are they similar in personality? I'm used to the shedding since I own a pug (it's HORRIBLE lol...like, little hair tumbleweeds blow through the house on occasion), but do labs shed THAT bad also? Any advice, stories, or experiences would be GREATLY appreciated!!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Tanya is offline Senior Member

welcome to the board

make sure the lab is for YOU not your pug

labs are great, but would need a lot more exercise, like an hour a day of off leash play/running. they are smart and need mental stimulation/challenge.

Yes labs shed a lot.

labs have many genetic issues, so make sure you find a breeder (if you go with a breeder) that clears both parents for ALL the health issues for which there are test for (hips, elbows, eyes, heart, eic, cmn).
    Last edited by Tanya; 10-28-2012 at 09:15 PM.
    Charlie (foster) and Rocky

kaisdad is offline Senior Member

The best advise I could give you is to just read the questions and answers right here in Lab Chat as well as the training section and health section. That'll get you familiar with all possible issues as well as the tone of this forum. Also, if you can find a copy of this book:

Labrador Retrievers For Dummies: Joel Walton,Eve Adamson: 9780764552816: Amazon.com: Books

I recommend it. It certainly isn't exhaustive, but it gives a good general synopsis of what you can expect from the breed.

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

BNS10 is offline Member