What do you think? Upset stomachs

Thread: What do you think? Upset stomachs

blackandyellow is offline Senior Member

DefaultWhat do you think? Upset stomachs

As many of you read from my previous post with the pics of the three dogs, Ive had problems with upset stomachs with the three dogs. Vet checked them and gave me antibiotics and de-wormers. I finished the treatment, yet both Misha and Homer still have loose, yellow stools, while Vermont is 100% perfect now.

Im begginning to think it could be the food, since the puppy is on Proplan puppy Large Breed and both Misha and Homer are on Prescription Diet j/d. Its strange, I have been feeding this food to them for more than 2 years without a single problem, they both love it, they have beautiful coats, maintain their bodyweights, etc.

What do you think?

Tomorrow Im taking samples for analysis but Im just puzzled they are still having loose stools after going through the medications as prescribed... specially Misha, she has always had a pretty tuff stomach (shes a Labragoat).

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Sophiesmama is offline Senior Member

What did the vet give the antibiotics for? What was the diagnosis? Did he check for worms, or just prescribe it "in case"?
    ~Pam

Sophie DOB 04/13/2011 6 mo

8.5 mo.

Sophie 15 months, with Skye

labby is offline Senior Member

I'm betting the vet gave Metronidazole to try and get everything under control. If they are still having issues, then obviously there is something else going on. Were the stools checked for giardia?

Since Vermont is now normal and the other two are not, I too might assume it was the food. Maybe switch to ProPlan, which is working for Vermont, and see if it clears up? JD might have had a formula change that is now causing it to give your two loose stools. If you can, buy a small bag of the ProPlan Chicken and Rice, NOT the Shredded Blend, and see if that helps.

Laura

5. Remove Advertisements