Just need to vent....
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Just need to vent....

lisa is offline Senior Member

DefaultJust need to vent....

Mad, sad, confused and disgusted. I have been volunteering at my local shelter for about 8 months and tonight was by far my worst night there. We adopted out a dane/lab mix about 6 months ago...he had a rough start in his new home, he suffers from SEVERE seperation anxiety. They worked with him, and even though there were ups and downs he was doing much better. Tonight he came back, he has been very destructive...but there has been a major change in the home...his dog friend, who stayed with when alone passed away. He can not be crated, he injures himself, he is on meds, I just think they should have given him time to get through this change.

I can't even think about it anymore...he pased the shelter floor watching the door, he messed his kennel within 2 minutes...I am rambling...I know, but what can be done for this poor dog. I don't know how anyone just walks away from their dog...I haven't walked in their shoes, so maybe I should not critisize...but I could never, ever, ever.

He probably will never find another home... any suggestions, words of wisdom or just something encouraging, because I am truly thinking euthanasia would have been kinder to this poor dog. I can't get his poor face out of my head...looking out the door, waiting for his owner to come back. People suck sometimes.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

deidra is offline Senior Member

poor pup Has anyone tried to contact a local dane rescue or lab rescue to see if they have room for him? An All breed rescue would also be something to look at.
    ~It doesn't matter how smart the dog is,it matters how smart the owner is.

morla is offline Senior Member

Aw! Poor puppy! Good for you for volutering at a shelter! I want to do that so bad!
    SIMON

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements