A Letter from a Shelter Manager in North Carolina
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A Letter from a Shelter Manager in North Carolina

Garth is offline Registered Users

DefaultA Letter from a Shelter Manager in North Carolina

This should be compulsory reading for anyone who's thinking about buying a dog or cat from a pet shop or BYB. Granted it's from NC but you can apply it to anywhere on the planet & the message will still be the same.

I found it on FB on Best Friends Rescue's page. This is the same rescue where I found Bear.

WARNING: Have the Kleenex handy. You'll need them.

A Letter from a Shelter Manager - anonymous in North Carolina

I think our society needs a huge "Wake-up" call. As a shelter manager, I am going to share a little insight with you all...a view from the inside if you will.

First off, all of you breeders/sellers should be made to work in the "back" of an animal shelter for just one day. Maybe if you saw the life drain from a few sad, lost, confused... eyes, you would change your mind about breeding and selling to people you don't even know.

That puppy you just sold will most likely end up in my shelter when it's not a cute little puppy anymore. So how would you feel if you knew that there's about a 90% chance that dog will never walk out of the shelter it is going to be dumped at? Purebred or not! About 50% of all of the dogs that are "owner surrenders" or "strays", that come into my shelter are purebred dogs.