Ok BREEDERS! Spill your beans!! :)
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ok BREEDERS! Spill your beans!! :)

TanyaAD138 is offline Member

QuestionOk BREEDERS! Spill your beans!! :)

Im new to the whole "going through a breeder" for a dog. The #1 thing i've noticed with all breeders are the lavish and well titled names all of their dogs have. Im dying to know.... Where in the world do these names come from?? and all the abbreviations that come before and sometimes after the name?

Example: I've never seen a breeder just name one of their dogs "brian" and call it a day. No, it's more something like: "Highest mountain of the major skies" (im making that up... no offense to anyone)

Can someone explain the naming scheme to me?? it's amazing some of the names of these dogs!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

windycanyon is offline Senior Member

First, the link showing what all the initials stand for: AKC Title Lists - The Labrador Retriever Club, Inc.

As for naming, AKC has registered so many dogs over the years, most of the short names would have all been taken long ago. Nowadays if you submit something generic, it'd probably be followed w/ some high roman numeral, so what fun is that? Most of us want to name our dogs something unique, or meaningful to us. The first part is generally the kennel name of the breeder (dam's owner). The rest may be something following a general theme, a litter theme, a play on the parents' names or encompassing the new owner's kennel name... something like that. Your example may mean to me that the pup was bred by the kennel "Highest Mountain" and maybe is now part of a new kennel named "Major Skies".

I have worked off an apple theme here for the past 16+ yrs, for instance (Gala, Fuji, Jazz...).

If you want to see some fun names, go to a hunt test some time. I've read some off as marshal that are really clever, and sometimes downright funny! For most of us, it's just a fun game.