For those that foster
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: For those that foster

Jessica.B is offline Member

DefaultFor those that foster

Do you like/prefer to have a certain amount of time in between fosters? I had my first foster last week for 5 days. He was adopted this past Sunday. Today I am getting my next foster. Do any of you take fosters back to back? I am brand new at this and would like to know from others how you like to do your fostering. Thanks!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Tanya is offline Senior Member

i take long breaks usually in btween, I think 3-4 weeks is the shortest I have gone between fosters. then depending on the time of year (if I am busier at work it is harder to balance a foster as well, or if I am travelling...and I have never hard a foster during the holdays so nov-dec is usually foster free).

everyone is different. find the balance that is right for you. I know people that have a swinging door, so one goes, another comes in (or sometimes one comes in before the other one is completley out the door...)

with your puppy just make sure you still have enough time for the one on one training she still needs. if you find it hard to balance than take a break and concentrate on your own dog. I do this with Rocky even though he is older. I like taking time to attend classes with him (he enjoys them, as do I) but I find it harder to take a class while I still have a foster.

ETA: Also ensure you don't burn yourself out. when needed don'T be afraid to say "I am taking a break" or "not right now". I have seen alot of people start in rescue and then go 110% and burn out in a year then leave. (they usually do alot more than foster though, for the rescue)
    Last edited by Tanya; 05-18-2011 at 05:17 PM.
    Charlie (foster) and Rocky