Should we or shouldn't we?? Please help

Thread: Should we or shouldn't we?? Please help

cherylma21 is offline Junior Member

DefaultShould we or shouldn't we?? Please help

We have an eighteen month old choc lab (male) and are thinking about getting another lab (male) for company for him as we are out of the house a lot during the day - although we are not sure if there may be any issues with this (jelously ect) and would appreciate what people may think about this or have experiences of this - also would it be more appropriate to get a puppy or one of a similar age to ozzy????

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

labby is offline Senior Member

18 months is a good age. If you want a puppy, get a puppy. Just remember if you get one the same age, you might be saying goodbye to them very close to each other, which can be pretty rough.

Laura

Leeann is offline Junior Member

Im no professional at this but I recently got a puppy, mainly to keep my lab (Storm) company and to have a friend. Storm is also approx. 18 months old and she took brilliantly to the puppy. They have been best friends since introduction...but you will have to be clever about the introduction depending on the temperament of your lab.
    I would also suggest a puppy of different sex to ozzy, as far as my research has taken me their tends to be alot less jelousy between opposite sex.

Just one thing though, if you are out of the house most of the day will you be able to feed and take puppy out to pee and give him the attention he needs? And also to supervise the first weeks with ozzy?

Besides that its great giving your older dog a friend, Storm seems to have forgotten all about me now that Nduna is around!

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Tanya is offline Senior Member