My Lab Bailey

Thread: My Lab Bailey

tyhags is offline Junior Member

DefaultMy Lab Bailey

My lab Bailey is 4 months and 1 week old and is weighing about 25 pounds. Everything I have read says that labs weigh about 40 pounds at this age. Her mother is 65 pounds and her father is 80 pounds. Anyone know about how big she will be? and any advice on feeding would really help out

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

erika348 is offline Junior Member

I'm not a feeding expert, however, I did find that my labs did much better with more protein than fillers or corn. So after some checking - we settled on Blue Buffalo and they've really thrived on it.

My Riley is 6 months old and weighs 43 pounds. His mother was on the smaller side and father was larger. He looks healthy and not underweight (can not see his bones), and I am assuming that he will be on the smaller side. You said that everything you read says he should be around 40 pounds at this age, and I tend to think it is misleading because labs come in all sizes and shapes. I have heard of labs in the mid 50's all the way up to 100 pounds once they are full grown.

As far as feeding goes, make sure you have a quality food for your dog. Some feed Purina Pro Plan and it works for their dogs while others feed something else like Innova large breed puppy food.

We feed Riley Natural Balance Potato and Duck because he can not tolerate much else. I do add EVO canned duck (only a couple of spoonfuls in because I want the extra protein for him).

Bottom line, every lab is different, and as long as he is healthy your dog is fine.

Robin

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

javasmom is offline Senior Member

The other posters are right-all labs are different.
    I have 2 chocolate girls-Moka and Java.