Newbie here and new Furmama!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie here and new Furmama!

DefaultNewbie here and new Furmama!

Hi everyone,
    I am new to the board as of today and was turned onto this site by a friend on another message board.

Well, I am a new furmama as of tomorrow when I go pick up my new baby, Gracie, a 8wk old chocolate lab from the breeder. I am beyond excited, nervous, anxious and just plain joyful about the prospect of being a new furmama. I have a 15yr old cat and have been her furmama for the last 15yrs. I have a 10 yr old son who (and really me) has wanted a dog for a long time. I have always grown up with dogs throughout my life right up until I went off to college years ago. Since I have been married to my hubby we haven't had one many because he wasn't ready (i always was though but understood and was going to patiently wait until he was, thank god it happened).
    We researched breeders pretty well (rather I did all the leg work and hubby didnt) as well as read up on everything I could get my hands on but it came down to intelligence, gentle nature, loyalty and just lovability in the type of dog we wanted. I have always wanted a lab, especially a english type lab. And it was a hard choice between chocolate or yellow but chocolate won out.

So, I have all the books and the internet at my fingertips to learn and get advice from along the way but in the end, my being a huge animal lover all my life I know I will be rewarded 100 fold from all the comes with all the love that a dog brings to a family. I couldn't be happier. I know its extremely hard work ahead in training but knowing the lab's intelligence and yearning to learn it will be so worth it.

I plan on crate training Gracie and putting her on a set schedule for feeding, housetraining and playtime and that this will be all me with some help from my son and hubby whom I will have to train and crack the whip on sticking to the rules of the house. I will be sargent around here!