Hello!!

Thread: Hello!!

hdale91 is offline Junior Member

DefaultHello!!

Hey guys!
    My names Hayley and I'm from Queensland, Australia!

I have a 5 month old black lab who I named Dakota and is honestly the best decision I ever made! I've attached some photos so you can see my beautiful baby!

I just wanted to get some advice or some insight in to other peoples experiences with their pups...

I work full time as a nurse, so occassionally I do double shifts (when this happens, I organise for Dakota to go to day care which she just loves).
    I have a fairly big back yard which she loves to explore, but if I leave her outside, she finds a way out (bites through the chicken wire, moves bricks etc) to get in to the neighbours yard. I'm very lucky because my neighbours absolutely love her and they actually have a key to my house so they can pop over and visit her while I'm at work! When I go to work, I leave the back door open slightly ajar so that she can get in to the back yard and can also come back inside.... TOUCH WOOD, I have had no destruction. It makes me so nervous leaving her and the longest I've left her alone is 6 hours, but the worst thing I've come home to is a few leaves chewed up on my floor. I find that if I leave the door open for her to explore and have the comforts of the house as well, she doesn't try to get out of the yard.

I started off crate training her, and still crate train her at night! She normally has her dinner around 8 and then does a wee and will come back inside and will sleep right through until around 5-6am where she will start crying for food! She is fully toilet trained and we haven't had any accidents inside since she was 3.5 months!