First Timer
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: First Timer

walkities is offline Junior Member

DefaultFirst Timer

Hello to all,

Having been around dogs all my life my family has typically rescued dogs as opposed to raising a puppy. After losing both of our dogs in the past three years (aged 16 and 17) our family has had an empty void as Im sure most can relate to. In the last week I purchased a Black Lab and am looking forward to building a bond with him and him with our family.

This is my first time raising a pup and I expect a lot of hours to be involved undoubtely and while I have the ethic to raise him I consider myself lacking a lot of knowledge on what to do most times. I've been scouring the forums for advice and decided to finally sign up. Looking forward to taking in all and any advice people may have as well as provide any I learn over the course of the pups life!

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

piperpuppy is offline Senior Member

What did you name your puppy?

We named him Paul. He's been pretty great aside from the obvious puppy things like biting and chewing haha.

He's just over 9 weeks old and have managed to already have him be able to sit (for the most part) and while not potty trained Im sure I've got a good schedule in place to the point where he hasnt had any accidents in the last three days.

Hates his leash and always becomes the "tree" when Im walking, not entirely sure how to make it better without pulling to hard. I typically just him a small morsel of his dog food when he does good. Of course the nipping of biting when he gets excited but Im sure thats all apart of the process!

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Sanderling is offline Junior Member