New. Any tips?

Thread: New. Any tips?

worms85 is offline Junior Member

DefaultNew. Any tips?

So I adopted an 8 month old papered lab yesterday (owners had to move out of state). She is still a little bit of a puppy, but decent sized. Growing up we always had dogs (though never a pure bred). I am new to it a bit, especially with her being young. She is housebroken, But had an accident on the bed. I am trying to get her okay being at home alone. I am a single mom, and when I go to work there is nobody home. I come home on my breaks, but I tried today to leave her for 5-10 minutes to run to the store and when I came home she was howling and whining. A crate/kennel is on the to do list, but I dont have one yet. Any advice on how to get her okay with being alone? I give her as much attention as I can when I am home, but I need to get her okay being alone. I contemplated getting her a companion to spend the day with, but I feel like one dog suits us better than two would, and I am not sure if that would help? Any advise, I've never had a lab or a lab cross before, so any and all tips would be appreciated.
    Samantha (and sookie)

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

slackercodemonkey is offline Senior Member

Get a crate right away. Then start playing games with the crate. Start by tossing a treat(pea or smaller piece hotdog usually works great) and not closing the door at all. Repeat a couple times and then stop. Do this like ever 30 minutes to an hour. After you dog get comfortable, start closing the door just for a moment. Do not keep your dog in longer than it is fun for them. Repeat all of this increasing the time you have the door closed. Then start closing the door and stepping out of the room for just a moment. Increase the time you are out of the room slowly. Make sure your dog doesn't freak out. If you do it right you will condition your dog to like his crate. Make it fun for you dog!

dstyer65 is offline Senior Member