Newbie here

Thread: Newbie here

Ladybug Guest

DefaultNewbie here

Hello all. Glad I found this forum. I have a female black lab mix, age estimated to be around 8 months. She came to me at the end of May. My business partner found her in a ditch out in the middle of nowhere, she was starving and in bad shape. Not anymore! Considering her rough start in life she is doing well. Had some hot spots and demodex. Poor thing had demodex around her eye. Looks a little funny but I think it just makes her more special. The hair is starting to grow back finally. Anyway, she has been spayed and everything done that needed to be done.

At first she was shy and scared, showed signs of abuse. She adapted quickly to indoor living. After a few weeks she would go outside with Tigger, greyhound mix(my baby) and we didn't have to go with her. She figured out he came and went as he wanted and she could too. No more having to worry about being left outside. At my house everyone sleeps inside, actually everyone sleeps in my bed.

She is 51lbs now, still growing. I guess labs eat like they are starving all the time, or maybe it's because she was starved. I can no longer free feed in the house, she will eat til she is sick. So they both eat 3x a day. Plus snacks.

The only problems we have with her are nipping, okay, sometimes she bites lightly. And she pees in the house once in a while. I think the peeing is my fault, I don't jump out of bed fast enough, she gets up very early and I only have a minute or so to get her outside. I can deal with that, I have a steam cleaner and the training is going better. The nipping has to stop. I seem to be the only person she really minds. Guess I'm the alpha. I can simply put my hand out close to her face to block her and she stops. It also stops other unwanted behavior.