Your favorite training method, dvd, book...

Thread: Your favorite training method, dvd, book...

DostaffLabs is offline Senior Member

DefaultYour favorite training method, dvd, book...

Sorry if this has been posted before. I'm fairly new to the hunt test game, only going to a few started tests. I have joined our local club and can't wait for the 'fun' days to start. My question is for a newbie into the sport, which method of training would you recommend. I only want to do hunt tests, and eventually I would like to train/test at the Master level. Any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
    ~Melissa~
    And the Dostaff Girls:
    Abby, Anna, Ava, Brandy, Cali, Holly, and Ruby (and Dixie, too)

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

GulfCoast is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Your favorite training method, dvd, book...

Mike Lardy's Total Retriever Training and Total Retriever Marking DVD sets are pretty much the bible. If your series about running Master, you will eventually end up with ALL Mike Lardy's stuff.

Danny Farmer/Judy Aycock's "Basics" is a jam up value for the money.

Evan Graham's Smartwork's series and ever expanding supplementary DVD's are also very good, but I find myself going back to Lardy more often.
    HRCH Ellie Mae MH CGC
    Tipsy Puppy
    Justlabradors.com -- the best site for your Labrador needs.

http://i228.photobucket.com/albums/ee311/EllieMaeDogg/2108207141_f7321f204b.jpg

Kzunell is offline Senior Member

The things you need to teach a dog are:
    1 Force fetch/Hold
    2 E-collar conditioning
    3 Recall
    4 Ladder work
    5 Force to Pile/Sit on Whistle
    6 T-patern/Double T patern
    7 Land force/Water forcing
    8 Heeling/Sit/Stay/Line Manners