Training age for hunting?

Thread: Training age for hunting?

Buddy13 is offline Junior Member

DefaultTraining age for hunting?

I am wondering at what age I should start training with my new puppy to hunt? I just got a 7 week old chocolate lab. I want to take him hunting but am looking for some guidance? Thanks

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Tanya is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Training age for hunting?

From what i have learned (as a total newbie) in my class, the first steps is basic obedience. Even in our class (with adult dogs) we go back to obedience. A proper heel (not obedience style heel, but still a good heel). A good recall. keeping the bumper as fun fun fun, not overdoing it when playing with the bumper either (i.e. not so great to play long sessions of fetch with it). Watching the more experienced dogs do their thing is insane - their obedience is beautiful to watch.

As for ducks and guns - i'll let the hunters answer that!

Now - if you can find a retriever club near you that offers classes, or go to hunt trials in your area that would be the best place to start. Getting to know people who know the game and can give you face to face advice. Seeing the dogs in action. Taking classes (some of the members in our class are only looking for a dog they can hunt with NOT compete with). Doesn't have to be a lab club, Tollers, Golden's, it's similar in the basics so take a class!
    Charlie (foster) and Rocky

Kzunell is offline Senior Member