whats the basic training needed for field trial

Thread: whats the basic training needed for field trial

mistonia is offline Senior Member

Defaultwhats the basic training needed for field trial

i have no experience of field trial at all. I would love to do it with both bitches ones 3 and ones a year old. whats the basic training i need to do like first level stuff. my yellow lab will do basic heel work, sit and stay and will sit and wait while i throw a toy and then retrieve it through anything very good nose and will even do blind retrieving with her toys. black bitch will do nothing in an open environment yet, but at home will, just about bring back on fetch sit and stay.

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

Amber The Duck Dawg is offline Senior Member

I am not sure if you want field trials or hunt test info, so I will include every level.

Working Certificate (Labrador Club) is an instinct test, dog must go and bring back one MARK (bird that the dog sees fall) on land and bring it back close to you. And then the dog must retrieve 2 single marks on water. Distances are close usually 40-60 yards with light cover.

Junior Hunter (Hunt Test AKC) Dog must pass 4 tests, each test will be 2 land marks and 2 water marks (each mark is run seperately). Dog must deliever to hand and must have reasonable line manners. Distance is anything up to 100 yards.

Senior Hunter (Hunt Test AKC) dog must pass 4 tests (1 double land) (1 double water) (1 water blind) (1 Land Blind) Doubles are two birds being shot and then the dog is sent to retrieve. Blinds are "planted" birds that the dog doesn't see. You must direct the dog to using whistle and hand signals. The dog should be under your control at all times, the dog does not go out and hunt it up you direct him exactly to it. At this level you must also honor (have your dog watch another dog work with out moving) and must be steady at the line. (not go till you send him)