Introducing pups to gunfire?

Thread: Introducing pups to gunfire?

dapper dan is offline Junior Member

DefaultIntroducing pups to gunfire?

At what age should you introduce a pup to gunfire? We have a 7 week-old Lab and I was planning on bird hunting with him this next bird season.

In XC
    -Tommy

2. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

kaznalf is offline Senior Member

DefaultRe: Introducing pups to gunfire?

Im no expert but my trainer always told me never to take a young young dog out bird hunting until fully trained and co-operative as they can pick up bad habits. Someone might pee on my theory though! When he is old enough to be walked try walking somewhere where bird scarers go off.

TinaandTribe is offline Member

DefaultRe: Introducing pups to gunfire?

Hi,

It's always a good time to start introducing your pup to gunfire! This is how we start our pups. One of my kids will take the starter pistol a few yard (about 50) and have them fire the gun. I immediatley throw the puppy dokken and off he/she goes! I do this for about 4 -5 days then I have the kids come in a lil closer with the gun and over the course of about 2 weeks I can have the kids stand right beside me and fire the gun, and by this time those lil ears are up and they know what's coming! They get to "Git that bird"!
    Hope this helps,
    Tina and "kids"

5. Remove Advertisements
    JustLabradors.com
    Advertisements

vute81 is offline Junior Member

The first time I fired off a cap pistol, there was no response (good or bad). I then tried it with a dummy and she had no ill effects of being scared or anything. I would introduce something like that while training fetch. Shooting the cap pistol and then throwing the dummy. Eventually moving to a louder gunshot sound.

Amber The Duck Dawg is offline Senior Member